*Library databases are available 24/7. Access resources off campus by logging in with your USERNAME (everything before @s207.org ) and PASSWORD.
If you have questions, need help, or can't access a resource, please contact Ms. Cochran or Mr. Mather.
If you have questions, need help, or can't access a resource, please contact Ms. Cochran or Mr. Mather.
DATABASES A-Z
A
Log in to access off campus.
|
Scholarly database offering access to thousands of full-text international journals, magazines, and other resources to provide global context for multidisciplinary research.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Articles from thousands of magazines and journals covering subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects. (Uniquely designed for students in honors level, college credit, and Advanced Placement courses.)
|
|
Collection of peer-reviewed, full text articles from 17 physics research journals.
|
|
Collection of information on the U.S. Presidency, including documents, media, related historical artifacts, and statistics. A project of UC Santa Barbara.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Collects breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics, and audio clips from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world with journalists in more than 250 locations worldwide.
|
|
This resource from the U.S. Department of Labor will help you discover available apprenticeships to earn paid, relevant workplace experience and acquire skills and credentials for your future careers.
|
B
|
Find thousands of primary source documents on the struggle for Black Freedom throughout different eras of U.S. History.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Find in-depth information on more than 100 skilled trades in dozens of industries like automotive, aviation, hospitality, landscaping, manufacturing, and more. Find training resources, career outlook information, and connect with trade schools and scholarships.
|
C
|
Archival collections and digital images from multiple historical and cultural institutions all over the Chicago area.
|
|
Provides basic information on the people, government, economy, geography, politics, and military for 266 countries and other international entities. Prepared by the CIA for the use U.S. government officials and researchers.
|
|
Find information and tools to learn about managing money, credit and debt, identity theft, and more. Provided by the Federal Trade Commission.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Explores a single "hot" issue from the news in-depth each week. Topics include social and teen issues, the environment, health, education, science, and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts. Also includes charts, graphs, sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies, and a list of contacts. (Full access to all articles published after 2012.)
|
D
|
Explore millions of digitized resources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. This one site gives access to images, documents, videos and more, including primary source sets with teaching guides for educators.
|
E
Log in to access off campus.
|
Search within multiple databases at once, efficiently narrowing results with filters.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
A general knowledge encyclopedia. A trusted source for factual information in print and multimedia resources. Select Elementary, Middle, or High School reading level.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Teaching and education resources including journal articles, curriculum guides, books, and more. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.
|
F
Log in to access off campus.
|
Clear and simple lessons, videos, and interactive tools on numerous personal finance topics, including budgeting, credit, taxes, and more.
|
G
Log in to access off campus.
|
Large collection of digital reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, etc.) covering a wide variety of subject areas.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Information on important figures including overviews, news, magazines, narrative biographies, and multimedia content.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Reliable information on multiple subjects and topics, with access to journals, magazines, primary sources, and multimedia content.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Reliable information offering overviews, news, multimedia content, and opinions on contemporary political and social issues.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Comprehensive database highlighting connections between scientific disciplines and contemporary issues. Includes articles, biographies, primary sources, multimedia content, and science experiments.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Offers overview of United States history, with reliable resources including overviews, news and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia content, and biographies on historical events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Traces global history from ancient societies to modern conflicts. Includes primary sources, biographies, reference overviews, multimedia content, and articles about the events, people, and topics central to world history.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
|
H
Log in to access off campus.
|
Consumer health information on topics including medical science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health from magazines, reference books, medication information, and other documents.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Delivers complete, fully-reproduced issues of The New York Times (1851-2019), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), and Chicago Defender (1909-1980). Explore historical events, social and consumer history, economics, literature, technology, and more.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Full-text database featuring reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents covering both U.S. and world history.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Collection of digitized reference and rare books, magazine and newspaper articles, maps, government documents, timelines, transcripts of historical speeches, multimedia content, and primary sources covering global history from ancient times to the present day. Information presented inclines toward a westernized/Euro-centric perspective.
|
L
|
Explore the digitized collections of the largest library in the world, an invaluable resource for primary and secondary source research. Includes digitized maps, legal materials, audio interviews, music recordings, and much more.
|
|
Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. Includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Provides evidence-based perspectives from a diverse pool of scholars and critics to ensure multiple viewpoints are represented.
|
M
|
A trusted Dictionary and Thesaurus publisher. Excellent resource for language information including definitions, synonyms, usage examples, word history, and more
|
|
Health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free. Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
|
N
|
International journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology, as well as news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. Access current and past issue
|
|
Current news, investigations, opinions, photos, and videos by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world. Access the archive, including primary sources, via the TimesMachine. Sign up for a digital subscription using your school Google login. Watch this video tutorial to help you get started.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Contains descriptions and recommendations for fiction and narrative nonfiction titles, covering all ages and reading levels. Includes reviews, and is searchable by genre, topic, pace, themes, and more.
|
O
|
This resource from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics provides information on hundreds of careers, including the work environment, necessary qualifications, pay, job outlook, similar occupations, and sources for additional information.
|
|
This resource is devoted to making the U.S. Supreme Court accessible to everyone. Find searchable audio of court proceedings, easy to understand case summaries and decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every Justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building.
|
P
|
Read Maine East's own student newspaper. Read the latest paper, and find issues going back to 2015.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, plays, biographies, and essays. Find context and critical analyses for important works, poetic forms, literary terms, techniques and movements, including video and audio from the Academy of American Poets.
Log in to access off campus |
|
Presents pro and con arguments of debatable issues with direct sources and citations, as well as further reference information relevant to those issues. Thoroughly researched and compiled by research staff and editors from the Encyclopedia Britannica group.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Designed for professional educators, a highly specialized collection of 500+ education journals and access to 200+ educational reports.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
A user-friendly general reference tool to support every range of user. Provides access to full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, books, and multimedia content like maps, pictures, and audio/video resources.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Provides access to biographies, original works, book reviews, criticism, and multimedia on thousands of authors, works, ad poems. Includes over 185,000 full-text poems and contemporary poets giving readings of their favorite works via the Poets on Screen collection.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Collection of journal articles on topics including anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, psychology, and psychiatry, with an emphasis on child and adolescent psychology.
|
|
Collection of open-access journals collecting original research from the natural sciences, medical research, engineering, technology, as well as the related social sciences and humanities.
|
|
This free database is the most heavily used biomedical and life science literature resource in the world. Provided by the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
|
R
Log in to access off campus.
|
This research tool supports English Language Learners and any students looking for adapted reading materials. You can find nonfiction and reference articles covering topics like history, government, literature, science, and life skills. Many of the articles can be read out loud, and there are visuals like pictures and diagrams to help you better understand the information.
|
S
|
Part of the New York Public Library, this center is devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on global black history, arts, and culture, including thousands of digitized materials.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Full text access to resources from hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, and reference books, as well as a vast collection of images.
|
Log in to access off campus.
|
Provides background and analysis on an extensive range of issues and topics. Editorially-created overview pages provide background for understanding issues. Further analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between.
|
T
|
A comprehensive resource designed for teens, providing straightforward information and support without judgment on health-related issues. Both a research tool and a self-help resource.
|
U
|
Provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, natural hazards, natural resources, impacts of climate and land-use change, and core science systems. Excellent resource for maps, photos, video, and other data on environmental and geographic topics. Provided by the science unit of the U.S. Department of the Interior.
|
V
Log in to access off campus.
|
Find articles from technical and trade journals on industries including construction, computers, engineering, finance, food service, health, marketing, real estate, and retail.
|